Chief Keef’s manager talks growing up, State of HipHop, and Future plans

20140305-051713.jpg

HipHop Party for the People was able to get up with the self-made, multitalented Peeda Pan. Commonly known for his management of young rap star Chief Keef and Glory Boyz. Also as a rising music industry exec/A&R. Got the chance to build with Peeda Pan while he was in Philly on business.

Tell us a little about yourself?
 I grew up in Philly, I rapped when I was in high school. I grew up between Philly and Chicago which lead me being able to work with the artist that I work with including Chief Keef GBE. At some point, I completely lost interest in rapping, which is crazy because I always thought that was something that I was going to do. That’s what everybody around me thought I was going to do. Our whole little crew had some rep. We were putting it down back in the day like 96 and 97. We would be running around down South Street battling. There was Lost Children of Babylon, Cassidy, we knew all of them before they were big. Anybody you can think of that is 29 and over, we rapped with them and shut em down.
How did you come to work with Chief Keef and the rest of GBE?
One of my best friends, he started working with Keith. He knows about music, and he brought me in more or less to run the situation. Its kind of weird with those guys, they don’t work with a lot of people. They are really closed off. Chicago is kind of like that, people aren’t really open. It’s a gang city, all the way back to the days with the mob; Al Capone and those guys. In Chicago, you just kind of deal with whoever you now that’s who you rock with. If you are not them you are not even accepted or brought in. It was interesting for me to be able to be accepted by them very easily and brought in, this whole group of guys. Everybody was comfortable. Keith had familiarity with me, to a degree. I grew up in a similar lifestyle that they grew up. They come from a more poverty stricken background than I. I grew up in West Philly, 63rd and Lansdowne. That’s like a middle class neighborhood. You got a lot of bad kids. We were running around doing all kinds of stuff. Me and Rell [close friend] for example, we were kind of cut from a different cloth, but all the other dudes that we used to run with, a lot of them are locked up forever, dead. That kind of upbringing, and being able to adapt to different types of situations and people is what enabled me to get along well and click with them.
What’s your opinion on the current state of Hip-Hop?
It’s going to always change, right now it’s at a transition. Every so often, it does this big transition where you have one group of people accepting who grew up accepting one style of Hip-Hop, and they look up and they are like “Wow. Wait a minute. What happened? Why is everybody rocking out to this now? That ain’t real Hip-Hop.” But it’s all real Hip-Hop. There was a point where people were saying Jay, Biggie, or Outkast wasn’t real Hip-Hop. Niggas were like “Man naw! Rakim, Big Daddy Kane, KRS-One, that’s the real deal.” Who can honestly say that 2 Pac is not real Hip-Hop? There was a time where he wasn’t accepted as that by Hip-Hop enthusiast.
I remember when I was 16 arguing with dudes who were thirty at the time or whatever. Hip-Hop is just progressive. Different regions have their styles and sounds that they like. What Keef and them do, that originated from the 36 Mafia style. Like Juicy J originated that kind of pattern. Its real simplified and repetitive. That particular cadence they made hot. It got with these younger kids, and that’s wassup.
What’s next for Peeda Pan?
I’m starting Pan Management. I’ll be signing different talent. I am expanding into working with actors and other aspects of talent. I’ve learned a lot over the years just off of trial and error. I didn’t really have any mentors teaching me. This industry is so cut throat with people not trying to share information because they are worried about you taking their spot. You gotta just get in and be observant. You gotta be sharp with it and just learn. That’s always been my thing. I ain’t have no big hommies “ like man come on we finna do this.” I get in and do it myself. What I am doing is putting together a team, I’m reaching out to some people or whatever. Taking my company and we are going to work on a lot of projects.

20140305-051736.jpg

One thought on “Chief Keef’s manager talks growing up, State of HipHop, and Future plans

Leave a Reply

